Home | Magazine | Interviews | Profiles | Live Reviews | Re:View | Features | Reviews | Photography | News | Gigs | Comments
Pennyblack on facebook link Pennyblack on twitter link
Magazine A-Z

Subscribe to our twice monthly newsletter which will keep you informed of new reviews, interviews and radio shows as they go online

magazine home
live reviews
website of the month
album / single reviews

Contact us
If you would like to get in touch, please contact John Clarkson, the editor.

Current Writers
Adrian Huggins
Adrian Janes
Andrew Carver
Andy Cassidy
Anthony Dhanendran
Anthony Strutt
Benjamin Howarth
Bill Gray
Carl Bookstein
Chris O'Toole
Cila Warncke
Daniel Cressey
Dave Goodwin
Denzil Watson
Dixie Ernill
Dominic B. Simpson
Fiona Hutchings
Gillian Fish
Harry Sherriff
Helen Tipping
Jamie Rowland
Jeff Thiessen
John Clarkson
Jon Rogers
Lisa Torem
Maarten Schiethart
Malcolm Carter
Marie Hazelwood
Mark Rowland
Mary O'Meara
Matt Williams
Melanie Smith
Neil Bailey
Nick Dent-Robinson
Nicky Crewe
Owen Peters
Paul Waller
Richard Lewis
Sarah Johnson
Tom Fogarty
Tommy Gunnarsson
Tony Gaughan

Current Photographers
Andrew Carver
Anna Gudaniec
Katie Anderson
Matt Williams

Write for us
If you would like to contribute to the pennyblackmusic online magazine, please contact John Clarkson, the editor.

Die! Die! Die!: Harmony

Reviewed By: Dave Goodwin
Label: Golden Antenna
Format: CD

I had never heard of Die! Die! Die! before, so you might say that I'm a Die! Die! Die! virgin. Not any more though .I listened to this once all the way through as I do usually when I have an album to review, and then I listened again and again...

‘Harmony’ is actually the New Zealanders’ fourth outing to date. Where have I been for the last few years? This is just awesome in the extreme. Don't just believe me though, as they have over 12,000 likes on Facebook. They reportedly take their influences from the likes of the brilliant Bailterspace and Devo, and I can certainly hear likenesses in them. Likeness to anyone else, however, stops there though, as Die! Die! Die! make a noise of their own.

With claims to fame such as being produced by Chris Townsend of Portishead fame and having recorded at Blackbox in France, you might expect me to say that the sound and feel to this is first class. Well, it is. It has that professional feel to it, but it is also as raw and intense as hell.

Founding members Andy Wilson and Michael Prain have persistently spewed out albums and live shows of distinct ferocity, and this album also introduces the bass rumblings of Michael Logie from the Mint Chicks.

It kicks off with a guitar sound similar to that of a demented wasp stuck in an ice cream cone with the top on. ‘Oblivious Oblivion’ is a tremendous start to any album, but the title track just carries on in the same ferocious style with doubled-up vocals continuing to be half hidden behind the waspish rhythms. ‘Harmony’ itself is just four and a half minutes of get-lost-in-your –own-space brilliance, which kicks you out at the end dazed and confused. ‘Season’s Revenge’ is, however, a slower affair craftily inserted in the middle with a drum beat that you will remember from one of Joy Division’s albums

But don't fret it as it soon gets going again with ‘No One Owns a View’. Amongst the mayhem, however, there are some nice harmonies such as on ‘Twitching Sunshine’. But it's the wandering, questioning, sometimes emotional rawness that gets to you. Ending in true style with the Portishead-ish ‘Get Back’, this is an album not to be missed.

I don't condone driving at speed as the nine points on my licence will tell you, but try moving the Speedo needle up on a cold dark night with your beam on down a country road with ‘Harmony’ on the stereo. It's kind of like being in your own private B-movie for a little while. Sweet...

Track Listing

Click to add your own review of this release

View All Visitor Reviews
Go to Magazine Homepage
Go to Homepage

See Also
Catalogue Releases in Stock ()
All Current Catalogue Releases ()
All Catalogue Releases, Including Deleted Items (2)

More Magazine Reviews
SWIM - CD : Dave Goodwin

Magazine Articles
Die! Die! Die!: Oporto, Leeds, 21/8/2013 Dave Goodwin

Free Subscriptions
RSS Feed Articles
RSS Feed Reviews
drag this icon into the podcasts library in itunes to subcribe to this show Podcasts

You tube
View Pennyblackmusic writer Sarah Johnson's series of 3 videos taken at the Pennyblackmusic Bands Night on 26/3/2011.

Featuring :
Nick Garrie
Hall of Mirrors
Anthony Reynolds